ADVERTISEMENT

Recruiting

fuballcrzy

Mar 5, 2020
I am a total newby when it comes to football recruiting. My son is a current soph and would love to play football in college at any level. It's hard to decipher what is real and what is just a money grab. Son does not have physical measurables that jump off paper like most sophs who are getting recruited already and getting early offers. As this is my first time through this with a child, I was looking for some feedback from others who have been through it.
- Camps - he gets a lot of emails from div 3 coaches to attend a certain camp. The email is the same content regardless of the coach who sends it. Seems like a money grab.
- Are there legit camps he should go to in summer?
- Showcases - invite to Indy to go through a combine type atmosphere and get measured, timed, etc. Is this type of stuff legit? When should he do it?
- Services/Recruiting sits - Coach Pete/Deep Dish, Lemming, Rivals, etc. What to make of all this?

Just looking for sound advice and maybe a timeline of what to be doing rising junior summer, etc.

Reactions: missingwalter
I'd start the conversation with the high school coach. In fact, its a shame if this hasn't happened yet. That should help him target a list of schools which are "realistic".

The nice thing about football compared to other sports (especially non-rev) is that the recruiting process is more delayed. This gives more chance to see whats around and develop.

Understand that camps are really just recruiting events with (usually) minimal technique taught. Your schools summer program should probably help more in development.

One key thing to point out. Don't let him get timed in an official event for a 40 if he isn't confident he can put out a good time. Bad times follow you.

Reactions: McCaravan
To start: Questions that your son should begin thinking about.
What are his interests?
Does he know what he wants to study in college?