ADVERTISEMENT

South Side Catholic Rivalries

Cat Box

Sep 23, 2012
Hey Southsiders. Protestant/Evangelical Aurora guy here. Help me understand the South Side Catholic rivalries and how the battle lines are drawn.

MC, Rita, Rice, Marist.
What about Laurence, DeLaSalle and others? What makes one rivalry more intense than another? Has it changed over the years?

There are rivalries and they can get very heated, but there’s also respect among the schools. For example, our gym is being retrofitted, so there are cranes and materials on our field since the gym is behind our south end zone.

We needed somewhere to play this season and the Rita people have treated us wonderfully. That’s the CCL.

I want our kids to win every time and beat everyone’s ass, but when the game ends you shake hands, show respect and treat each other well.

There’s just a bond in the CCL. I’m a Rita grad working at D and everyone there has treated me like one of their own. Seventeen years at D and I consider myself a Meteor - win or lose.

Proud to be a Catholic Leaguer.

It's a bit early to retrofit the place for a new trophy case, don't you think?

How does the new field/stadium look?

We’re retrofitting the gym because we are coed and need proper facilities for the young women.

Hate to disappoint you, but no field, stadium or new trophy case yet.