ADVERTISEMENT

Expert? NCAA Tournament picks

MC63

Gold Member
May 29, 2001
Lake County
I don't follow college basketball, but I love to play the bracket pools.

While I have little personal knowledge here, I did some research -- and reviewed the picks and comments of several so-called experts.

Of the four who made picks in all games, both Loyola and South Dakota State (the Jackrabbits - how can you not love that name?) were unanimous choices to win their openers (and at least one more game). Alabama was a unanimous choice to lose to its play-in opponent (Notre Dame or Rutgers). Michigan and Michigan State each get 50-50 chances in game one. Illinois was picked by three of the four, but all expect a close game.

A survey of final four picks (by 1twelve experts) showed Arizona over Gonzaga (very, very close) for the championship, while Kentucky and Iowa were runners-up. (Kansas, Texas Tech and Tennessee were favorites to get to Saturday, as well).

Please don't bet any money on this information. I used the term "expert" loosely.If you lose any dough, you've been warned.

I'm hoping that Gonzaga wins it all, and that Chattanooga, Loyola and South Dakota State do well..

Last edited:
Here is some historical perspective.

Gonzaga has played in two championship games within the last five years, so they have a legitimate chance of winning it. Still, they are not a prohibitive favorite. This team seems to be about one or two points worse than the two teams that made it to the championship game. They entered the tournament with a record of 32-1 in 2017 and 26-0 in 2021. Both of those teams had a scoring margin of roughly +23.5 points. This year they enter the tournament with a record of 26-3 and a scoring margin of roughly +22.5.