ADVERTISEMENT

Yesterday's blowouts...wake up IHSA!

Ogre5530

Apr 23, 2006
I'm hoping after yesterday's debacles on the field that the IHSA will realize that they should be seeding 1-32 in all classes! They definitely did not have good match ups and were some of the worst state games i've ever seen. Wake up and smell the roses!!

Seeding of the bracket wasn't the problem, letting schools make a mockery of the rules and remain in 3A and 4A is the problem..

It all goes in cycles......since 2010 with 8 classes and seeding pretty much consistent in that same time frame here's the average scoring difference 2010 /20.8,2011/13.7,2012/15.2,2013/13.3 and just last year it was the lowest in that time frame at 12.6 per game....how was last year so different from this year in seeding and number of classes??? It wasn't.

.........and in the IHSFCA , didn't have one all state player! realistically they had 3-4.

It's not hard to see there are flaws in the system. I'm a catholic school graduate and I know they have a definite advantage. For someone to say their isn't should get their head out of the clouds and wake up. Naz could have beaten just about anyone in any class this year for example.

Reactions: jwarigaku
I saw Helfgot's piece. I'm not surprised he calls for separation of public and privates. I expect the calls for separation to continue to gain steam.

Go 1-32 seeding. Why is Naz/JCA playing in the 2nd round of the playoffs? Everyone knew this was the state title game.

Why in the past is Montini playing JCA in the 2nd round of 5A. Everyone knew this was at least a semifinal matchup.

Go 1-32.

Just because it was a good year for Catholic schools doesn't mean they have some unrealistic advantage.

Between 1975 and 1987 LA didn't make the IHSA playoffs once. Their nearest public school NT made the playoffs 7 times.

I notice he doesn't mention Phillips in his piece when he mentions recruiting - and not solely of 8th graders, either.

Reactions: WP606