ADVERTISEMENT

30 year plus coaching legends

gags33

Gold Member
Sep 12, 2018
I graduated in 1987 from Addison Trail High School. Paul Parpet was my head coach..He was head coach there for 30 some years.He was also the head varsity baseball coach for many years.. I recently learned he is still coaching football, head coach at Lisle now. Prior to head coaching at Lisle, he assisted for some years at DGN.. In addition I think he still helps out at DGS with baseball..I thought about that man a lot over the years. And now that I have 2 boys in high school football and one more next year, I think about him even more. His go to line before every game was " I'd give my left nut to be able to do what you boys get to do. I'd give my left nut to play again on that field" The more time goes by the more I think about that..I use that line on my kids now. Great coach..great man who has dedicated his life to high School sports.

Congrats to his Lisle Lions. Already have wrapped up their division of the I-8. Good squad this year.

Reactions: gags33
Who are some of the coaches still doing it after 30/40 + years?

Rich Zinanni, Bishop McNamara, since 1975....5 titles, 3 seconds, started season with 341 wins...353 and another trophy possible this year...

Jeff Reents, Wilmington, since 1994...his tenure alone is impressive, but combine it with Howard Becker 1965-93....Wildcat coaches stick around...Becker with Rob Murphy same combo with wrestling - and Murphy has been Reents defensive coordinator since then...

Brian Spooner, Clifton Central, 21 years...

end of the 20+ list in the Kankakee area...

Not all as a HC but Ron Muhitch at WWS has been around forever.

DC from 1980- 2001
4 State Titles, 2 Runners Up

HC from 2002- Current
3 State Titles, 2 Runner Up

Overall Program Record since he started 317-121

Reactions: atsirabb
Rich Zinanni, Bishop McNamara, since 1975....5 titles, 3 seconds, started season with 341 wins...353 and another trophy possible this year...