ADVERTISEMENT

618 Talk Week 2

Formicidae13

Aug 9, 2019
Week 1 produced several interesting storylines in Southern Illinois to review and week 2 has several intriguing games to preview. As always, I appreciate input on teams as I'm not an expert on everyone and it's nice to hear what others think.

Southwestern Conference
East St. Louis: Their week 1 36-33 loss to Mt. Carmel has already(understandably) been discussed at length on here and I'm not sure what there is left that has been unsaid. Obviously, penalties and extra points cost the Flyers in this one, but they had plenty go right to stand toe-to-toe with a fellow heavyweight. Next up for the Flyers(0-1) is a home game against St. Frances(0-2) out of Baltimore, who bested East Side 20-13 when they met in Canton, OH week 1 last year. This year's matchup is probably about as good of a football game as you'll be able to see between two currently winless programs. I'd keep my eye on the matchup between St. Frances's offense(averaging just 7 PPG) and the Flyer defense(surrendered 36 points) as both units are still looking to prove themselves. My read is this should be a good one, but nothing would surprise me too much here. Whoever loses will be unfamiliar territory however as East St. Louis has not started 0-2 since 2014 and 2015 was the last season St. Frances lost more than two games, which predates their transparently recruiting players from throughout the nation and being forced out of Maryland's playoffs.