ADVERTISEMENT

Q: Best IHSA Football Rivalries

EdgyTim

Staff
May 29, 2001
Channahon Illinois
Was asked about this earlier this week and figured we could throw this annual thread a round a bit. Feel free to list older rivalries, newer ones and such.

Reactions: Kayden39
Hopefully it will happen again one day soon

In the next few years it will happen, WWS was not to thrilled to have to end the series when the DVC changed but with the new conference they are back to two non conference games to start the year.

St.Patrick vs Holy Cross (before HC's demise)

St.Patrick vs Notre Dame

Joliet Catholic vs Providence Catholic

Mt.Carmel vs St.Rita

Brother Rice vs Marist

Loyola Academy vs New Trier
I am new to the Loyola community, but I am a little surprised by Loyola vs New Trier rivalry, maybe it has been better in the past, but to me it felt like the mount carmel game was more hyped this year. Would love to hear more about the rivalry, especially because I am new.

Stevenson and Lake Zurich

Oswego and Oswego East (I know East hasent won - but huge game for the community)

Waubonsie and Neuqua.

Bishop McNamara - Herscher
McNamara - Bradley Bourbonnais - Kankakee
Wilmington - Coal City
Manteno - Peotone ...the Route 50 Rumble
Momence - Clifton Central
Wilmington - Manteno relatively new
'14 & '15 undefeated matchup week 9 as large/small champs

McNamara - Manteno would quickly become one if they were to be stuck together in a district...historically, until about 20 years ago (when Manteno's enrollment exploded) about 10% of Manteno 8th graders went to Mac...

I'm confused/intrigued, would you be able to explain this more?