ADVERTISEMENT

How will NCAA fix log jam?

colin2229

Jul 23, 2005
NCAA Eligibility states that a student-athlete has 5 years to play 4 seasons of eligibility. For the next next 6 years, kids now have 6 years to play 5 years of eligibility.

The 2021 season is going to present a massive log jam of players on rosters. How is the NCAA going to fix this or will it just play itself out over the years?

Ex: A D1 program could potentially not lose one player after this season due to this years eligibility not counting. What happens w all these incoming freshman that signed LOI to come ply for you?
* QB at Miami,Fl just played his red-shirt SR season. He just announced, bc this year didn’t count, he will be back for a 6th year. The coaches didn’t anticipate him returning and replaced his scholarship w an incoming QB. Does that QB now not have a scholarship?

Ex: the D3 level is going to see some 200+ rosters.
*If I’m a D3 coach-I am grey shirting loads of kids. Would allow them to go through pre-season camp and then tell them to lift during the season and you will be back on the team come spring. 99% chance this is going to be a wasted year of eligibility otherwise.

D3 kids just wont play. Not worth it.

I think we see more PWO and not less.

PWO are the ones who are going to get the short end
How? They are already not scholarshiped? The biggest issues are going to be too few scholarships for too few kids (incoming frosh and 5th/6th year kids getting that extra year). Unless some exceptions are made, it’s going to be a purely number of available scholarship issues. Programs will actually value preferred walk ons because they can be part of the program and not use a scholarship (which will be very valuable in 2021).