ADVERTISEMENT

Argo

What's the culture at Argo like? Is it favorable to football? Is there potential for the new coach to build a winning program?
Annually, the conference championship must "go through" Richards. Every once in a while a Shepard, Reavis or Eisenhower (Evergreen a few years ago) will threaten, but then come back to the rest of the pack after a season or two. Outside of Richards, most of the schools in that league pad their records with soft CPS non-cons and then exit the playoffs early, if qualifying. Not an indictment, just a series of factual observations. Nevertheless, good luck to the new HC.

I'm no expert but gee where do I start? Argo has for years been the victim of bad luck.I know I've had issues with them so I'll tell my story & lay it to rest.They played for years in the rugged Illini 8 with the likes of Lockport,Joliet Catholic & Marian Catholic & where they were rivals with Joliet East.They finally left for much less travel in the Sica in 1977.They had a damn good team in 1977.Started 2-0(ironically vs 2 Illini 8 schools) but lost 4 starters which equals to 8(both ways) in those 2 games.Finished 4-5 losing 5 very close, winnable games.Could very well have been a playoff team.Argo was probably along with the Joliets,The Kankakees and Bloom Trail the bottom of the Sica though the afore mentioned schools killed Argo & even had some success.Argo was the victim of the Southtown who picked on the community & football team with a vengeance for year(Joe Predicto) who would make fun of the school/town due to poor football teams & the Corn Products smell that would heavily be present at football games(Would even reach as far as Reavis & Morton High) until people in the area starting cancelling their subscriptions,anyway Argo always had lower numbers than most Sica schools(though in 86 Tinley won state with 27 players) but you could not argue their heart.They would get beat fairly bad despite some pretty good players.Tom Tomlinson & Lou Weber among